

DECISION TAKEN BY THE MONITORING OFFICER

Decision title: Appointments to Outside Bodies and Partnerships and Changes to Committee Membership

Officer making the decision: Scott Wooldridge, Deputy Monitoring Officer

Contact Details: scott.wooldridge@somerset.gov.uk

Author Contact Details:

Claire Dicken, Democratic Services Claire.Dicken@somerset.gov.uk

Date of Decision: 22 December 2023

Appointments to Outside Bodies Details of the decision:

The Monitoring Officer has delegated authority, in consultation with the political group leaders to make in-year changes to internal, partnership and Outside Bodies appointments in accordance with the wishes of the relevant political group leader.

In accordance with this, the Monitoring Officer has made the following revisions to Somerset Council's Internal Bodies, Outside Bodies and Partnerships:

Hinkley Point Site Stakeholders Group (A & B Sites)

To add Councillors Andrew Govier, Lance Duddridge and Ros Wyke to represent the Council on the Stakeholders Group. To sit alongside Councillors Hugh Davies and Mike Caswell.

Hinkley Point C Monitoring Board

To appoint Councillor Richard Wilkins as the Council's representative on the Board. This appointment replaces Councillor Mike Rigby.

SACRE

To appoint Councillor Sarah Wakefield as the Council's representative on the Committee. This appointment replaces Councillor Tessa Munt.

Changes to Committee Membership Details of the decision:

Delegated authority also sits with the Monitoring Officer, in consultation with the leaders of the political groups to update Committee Membership. This authority was given at the meeting of full Council on 24 May 2023.

In accordance with this, the Monitoring Officer has made the following changes to Committee Membership:

Licensing and Regulatory Committee

To appoint Councillors Martin Lovell and Mike Murphy as Committee Members of the Licensing and Regulatory Committee. These appointments replace Councillors Jason Baker and Jenny Kenton from the Committee.

Planning Committee North

To appoint Councillor Mike Murphy as a Committee Member of the Planning Committee North. And to appoint Councillor Harry Munt as a Substitute Member of the Committee.

Planning Committee West

To appoint Councillor Mike Rigby as a Committee Member of the Planning Committee West. This appointment replaces Councillor Dixie Darch from the Committee

Scrutiny Committee (Corporate and Resources)

To appoint Councillors Henry Hobhouse and Mike Murphy as Committee Members of the Scrutiny Committee (Corporate and Resources). These appointments replace Councillors Richard Wilkins and Emily Pearlstone from the Committee.

Scrutiny Committee (Children and Families)

To appoint Councillors Pauline Ham and Marcus Kravis as Committee Members of the Scrutiny Committee (Children and Families). These appointments replace Councillors Caroline Ellis and Jenny Kenton from the Committee.

Reasons for proposed decisions:

To update the Outside Body arrangements with necessary changes as identified for Somerset Council. And also, to update the membership of Committees with necessary changes as identified for Somerset Council. These changes relate to filling vacancies or reflect the wishes of the relevant political group leader.

Alternative options considered and rejected:

Group Leaders have been consulted on the proposals set out in this report and consensus reached to ensure the bodies listed are fully functional and compliant with the bodies' listed, terms of reference.

Not filling the vacancies was rejected as an alternative approach.

Implications considered:		
None.		

Background papers:

Report of the Monitoring Officer, Full Council AGM, 24 May 2023.

Outside Body Arrangement List held by the Council on SharePoint and ModGov.

Committee Membership records held on ModGov at the Council

The following consultation has been completed:	Councillor	Date
Local County Councillors consulted where the decision directly affects their Division	N/A	N/A

Relevant Executive Member(s)	Cllrs Bill Revans as Leader	21/12/2023
consulted	of the Council and Liz	
	Leyshon as Deputy Leader	
Opposition Spokesperson(s)	David Fothergill, Martin	22/12/2023
consulted/informed	Dimery, Leigh Redman and	
	John Hunt as Leaders of	
	the Opposition Parties	

Decision Maker

I am aware of the details of this decision, have considered the reasons, options, representations and consultation responses (where applicable) and give my approval / agreement to its implementation.

Signed:

Name: Scott Wooldridge

Post: Deputy Monitoring Officer

Date: 22 December 2023